forfour.co.uk

Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: First time ForFour Owner  (Read 7030 times)

Bal

• West London
First time ForFour Owner
« on: February 14, 2021, 04:51:59 PM »

Hi,

It's my first time I have owned a ForFour and first time posting! Please be gentle!

2006 Passion 1.5 Petrol

So far my initial impressions are not that great, maybe it's partly my fault for buying a ForFour blind (lockdown prevented me travelling 100+ miles to see the car), however I did get it cheap and it's the trim/ engine I wanted. Then again the mileage is 130,000+ but because I knew it has a japanese engine I wasn't worried that much. That was until I opened the oil filler cap and saw the dreaded mayo build up. Checked the coolant and topped it up slightly, ran the engine and warmed it up, didn't see any bubbles, no smoke from the exhaust. I'm hoping it is just the winter condensation but just to be sure I have ordered a combustion gas tester. Service history shows a coolant change in 2019 but I never trust the paperwork anymore, specifically when it's from a dealership...

The engine had a distinct whine and so quickly got the AUX belt changed this morning, that's sorted. However I'm having weird issues with the RPM. It fluctuates up and down from cold rapidly, then once warm it settles and the randomly fluctuates again. The fluctuation is between 200-400rpm. The fluctuation can happen at idle or with constant acceleration. I haven't driven the car much due to time constraints but I will have a go at cleaning the throttle bottle when it gets a bit warmer but has anyone got any experience of this?

https://youtu.be/5efC3YiwYoc
https://youtu.be/eEXn9eUxS7s